Annual Conference 2024

The Rio Texas Annual Conference took place in Corpus Christi from June 5-8.


Annual Conference is a time when pastors and lay delegates come together to hear, review, and approve reports about the mission activities conducted by the churches and organizations of our conference.


The Service of Ordination and Commissioning included the appointment of our AHUMC pastors—including our own Rev. Linda Baumheckel's appointment in retirement to Congregational Care and Rev. Reed McNitzky as our incoming Modern Worship Teaching Pastor.  This year's Ordination Service also included a bittersweet celebration for AHUMC as Rev. Ryan Jacobson was commissioned and appointed as the new Senior Pastor to Leander United Methodist Church.  We will miss Ryan, Kylea, and Ollie but we look forward with great hope to the ministry they will bring to our sisters and brothers in Leander.


The Annual Conference also voted to restructure from seven districts to three beginning in 2025. Accordingly, the approved annual budget for the Rio Texas Conference has been reduced from 10.3 million in 2016 to 6 million.


AHUMC would like to thank our lay delegates who gave their time to represent our church and our district. The lay delegates are Robert and Bonny Cundiff, Ed and Jackie Dickey, Tony and Carrie Lobasso, Chip and Valerie SladeGabe Muñoz, Kitty Meyers, and Nicholas Weatherston.